Structure of the Commission

Sustainable Cities

Structure of the Commission

Head of Secretariat: Björn Grönholm
The 3 Co-chairpersons: Risto Veivo, city of Turku, Finland, Irena Sakalienė, City of Klaipeda, Lithuania and Per-Arne Nilsson, City of Malmö, Sweden.

To support UBC SCC activities, strengthen cooperation with UBC member cities and better support them in their sustainable development, the UBC SCC has established an Advisory Board consisting of the three co-chairpersons, the head of the secretariat as well as currently 15 experts from UBC member cities. The role of the Advisory Board Members is to support the UBC Sustainable Cities Commission and the secretariat in its actions by bringing national and theme related expertise and recommendations in project related activities (Smart City, Climate Change, Biodiversity/Environmental Protection, Mobility (SUMP), Water management, Circular economy). This will be achieved, e.g., through support in finding important themes and topics for the Sustainable Cities e-bulletin and Bulletin and UBC Sustainable Cities Commission meetings, by proposing project themes and comment on urgent and policy related issues.

The current Advisory Board is elected until the next UBC General Conference 2021.

Contact persons: 

Björn Grönholm

Head of Secretariat

UBC Secretariat of Sustainable Cities Commission
Baltic Sea House
Vanha Suurtori 7
FIN-20500 Turku
Mobile: +358 449075987