Invitation: Helsinki Energy Challenge livestreams

The City of Helsinki will hold two live broadcasts in the coming months to answer your questions about the Helsinki Energy Challenge.

The climate crisis is the most crucial challenge of our time, and cities play a key role in driving the shift to a low-carbon economy. Helsinki is one of the leading cities in the transition towards a sustainable future, as it has set an ambitious goal of becoming carbon neutral by the year 2035. But there is an important issue to overcome, as currently, more than half of the city’s district heat is produced with coal. In order to achieve our aim of carbon-neutrality, we need radically new solutions to meet the city’s heating demands. And we are not alone. To fight climate change, we need sustainable heating solutions in cities the world over. Climate change will not be solved through quick fixes. The City of Helsinki has launched the Helsinki Energy Challenge in order to invite innovators from around the world to use Helsinki as a testbed for coming up with truly sustainable urban heating solutions. They seek revolutionary heating solutions that not only leave coal behind, but also move beyond biomass as a substitute. Helsinki will shift through the ideas for the best solution for itself, but the city also plans to share solutions from the challenge with cities around the globe.

During the livestreams energy experts will also provide key facts about Helsinki’s current heating system. In fact, you will learn everything you need to know to join in. The livestreams will also include Q&A sessions, so if there’s something we’ve missed, feel free to ask.

Follow the livestreams on the Helsinki Channel online video service

Monday, 4 May 2020 at 15:30 EEST/14:30 CEST 
Read more and follow the broadcast
Tuesday, 16 June 2020 at 18:00 EEST/ 17:00 CEST
Read more and follow the broadcast  

More information : www.energychallenge.hel.fi