Safe Cities Commission met in Tallinn

On 7-9 June the UBC Safe Cities Commission met in Tallinn to hold its second meeting in 2017 and elect a Chairman and a Vice-Chairman. Theme of this meeting was - crisis management in emergency situation.

Official working session began with warm welcome words from Kalle Klandorf, Deputy Mayor of Tallinn, who expressed his pleasure to host the UBC Safe Cities Commission in Tallinn. During these 3 days, the Commission's members from Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Poland had the possibility to get information on how Tallinn Municipal Police is preparing for the new task - crisis management. After the introduction, other cities presented their experience in crisis management and work during an emergency situation.

After the presentations and discussions, meeting participants visited one of the Estonian Emergency Centres to see how in practice the work is carried out in Tallinn.


On the last day an election of the UBC Safe Cities Commission's Chairman and Vice-Chairman was held. The participating Commission's members agreed, that current Chairman Kaspars Vārpiņš from Liepaja Municipal Police and current Vice-Chairman Torbjörn Lindström from Southwest Finland Emergency Services should continue their duties.


More information

Kaspars Vārpiņš
Chairman of the UBC Safe Cities Commission
Tel. +371 2 6406820

Member city: