EFTA/EEA Financial Mechanisms

The EEA Grants and Norway Grants

The EEA Grants and Norway Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to reducing economic and social disparities and to strengthening bilateral relations with 15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics.
The EEA Grants and Norway Grants are set up for five-year periods. For the period 2014-2021, €2.8 billion has been set aside under the Grants. The EEA Grants (€1.5 billion) are jointly financed by all three donors and available in all 15 countries. The Norway Grants (€1.3 billion) are financed solely by Norway and available in the 13 countries that joined the EU after 2003.
Funding is channelled through five priority sectors in the 15 beneficiary countries. Country allocations are based on population size and GDP per capita, making Poland the largest beneficiary state, followed by Romania, Hungary and the Bulgaria.