56th UBC EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING, ON THE EVE OF X GENERAL CONFERENCE, KRISTIANSAND, 23 SEPTEMBER 2009

MEMO

Application for membership from Rakvere, Estonia.

Mr Andres Jaadla, Mayor of Rakvere, submitted the application of Rakvere to join the Union of the Baltic Cities. Mr Jaadla made a presentation about the city of Rakvere.

The Board decided to accept Rakvere as a member of the Union of the Baltic Cities and wished Rakvere a successful cooperation with other UBC member cities.

The Board went through the programme of the X General Conference:

24 September 2009 Plenary Session – welcome addresses and keynote speeches

- Mayor of Kristiansand, Per Sigurd Sørensen, welcome address
- President of UBC, Mayor of Kolding, Per Bødker Andersen, opening address
- Hallgeir Aalbu, Director General, Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development,
 Kingdom of Norway
- Ambassador Kornelija Jurgaitiene, member of Council of the Baltic Sea States Committee of Senior Officials
- Presidency of the European Council, Maria Åsenius, State Secretary to Minister for EU Affairs,
 Kingdom of Sweden
- Councillor Kay Twitchen, member of the Committee of the Regions, rapporteur on Climate Change
- David Sweet, European Commission, adviser to Director General DG Regional Policy Dirk
 Ahner
- Local and regional co-operation in the Mediterranean, Miquel Rosselló, member of the Executive Committee of the Consell Insular of Mallorca, Arco Latino
- Baltic Sea Region challenges in the eyes of youth Jannike Arnesen Kristiansand and Robert Lang Tallinn
- Elkem Solar in Kristiansand contributing to low-cost production of solar cells, Svein Grandum,
 R&D Manager, Product Development
- Mayor George Heartwell of Grand Rapids, Michigan, Chairman of Great Lakes and St.
 Lawrence Cities Initiative

Parallel workshops

W.1 To improve the environmental state of the Baltic Sea Region

Moderator: Commission on Environment (Turku) and Commission on Energy (Oskarshamn)

W.2 To make the Baltic Sea Region a more prosperous place by supporting balanced economic development

Moderator: Commission on Information Society (Tampere/ St.Petersburg) in cooperation with Commission on Business Cooperation (Kaunas/Kiel/Kolding)

W.3 To make the Baltic Sea Region more accessible and attractive

Moderator: Commission on Tourism (Koszalin/Szczecin). Support: Commission on Transport (Gdynia), Commission on Urban Planning (Helsinki), Commission on Youth Issues (Kalmar), Commission on Culture (Vaasa), Commission on Sport (Gdynia)

W.4 To make the Baltic Sea Region a safer and more secure place

Moderator - Commission on Health and Social Affairs (Kristiansand). Support: Commission on Gender Equality (Umeå), Commission on Education (Kärdla/Norrtälje).

25 September 2009 General Assembly

Meetings of the UBC Commissions

Opening of the General Assembly

Report on UBC Activities October 2007 - September 2009, Per Bødker Andersen, President of UBC Reports from the Commissions:

Commission on Business Cooperation

Commission on Culture

Commission on Education

Commission on Energy

Commission on Environment

Commission on Gender Equality

Commission on Health & Social Affairs

Commission on Information Society

Commission on Sport

Commission on Tourism

Commission on Transportation

Commission on Urban Planning

Commission on Youth Issues

General Assembly continues:

Alteration in the Statute

Alteration in the internal regulations

Auditor's Report

Board of Audit Report

Absolving the Presidium, Board, Secretary

Membership Fees 2010-2011

Executive Board in the next period

President and Vice-Presidents in the next period

Board of Audit in the next period

Auditor in the next period

Conference resolution

Updated Strategy

Updated Social Charter

Sustainable Development Action Plan

Venue of the XI UBC General Conference in autumn 2011 (Liepaja)

Best Environmental Practice in Baltic Cities Award 2009

UBC Cultural Prize 2009

Other matters

Mr Jarkko Virtanen, UBC Vice-President, Vice-Mayor of Turku ,handed over the document stating that City of Turku would host the secretariat of the Commission on Environment for another period.

Chair - Per Boedker Andersen, UBC President

Secretary - Pawel Zaboklicki, UBC Secretary General